We think that you are in United States and that you would prefer to view Bookwitty in English.
We will display prices in United States Dollar (USD).
Have a cookie!
Bookwitty uses cookies to personalize content and make the site easier to use. We also share some information with third parties to gather statistics about visits.

Are you Witty?

Sign in or register to share your ideas

Sign In Register

Man Booker Prize Winners (1969-2015)

Joanna By Joanna Published on April 9, 2016

1969 P. H. Newby Something to Answer For 

1970 Bernice Rubens The Elected Member

1970 (retrospective award[a]) J. G. Farrell Troubles

1971 V. S. Naipaul In a Free State 

1972 John Berger G. 

1973 J. G. Farrell The Siege of Krishnapur

1974 Nadine Gordimer The Conservationist, Stanley Middleton Holiday 

1975 Ruth Prawer Jhabvala Heat and Dust 

1976 David Storey Saville 

1977 Paul Scott Staying On 

1978 Iris Murdoch The Sea, the Sea 

1979 Penelope Fitzgerald Offshore 

1980 William Golding Rites of Passage 

1981 Salman Rushdie Midnight's Children 

1982 Thomas Keneally Schindler's Ark 

1983 J. M. Coetzee Life & Times of Michael K 

1984 Anita Brookner Hotel du Lac 

1985 Keri Hulme The Bone People

1986 Kingsley Amis The Old Devils 

1987 Penelope Lively Moon Tiger 

1988 Peter Carey Oscar and Lucinda 

1989 Kazuo Ishiguro The Remains of the Day 

1990 A. S. Byatt Possession 

1991 Ben Okri The Famished Road 

1992 Michael Ondaatje The English Patient, Barry Unsworth Sacred Hunger 

1993 Roddy Doyle Paddy Clarke Ha Ha Ha 

1994 James Kelman How Late It Was, How Late 

1995 Pat Barker The Ghost Road War 

1996 Graham Swift Last Orders 

1997 Arundhati Roy The God of Small Things 

1998 Ian McEwan Amsterdam 

1999 J. M. Coetzee Disgrace 

2000 Margaret Atwood The Blind Assassin 

2001 Peter Carey True History of the Kelly Gang 

2002 Yann Martel Life of Pi

2003 DBC Pierre Vernon God Little 

2004 Alan Hollinghurst The Line of Beauty 

2005 John Banville The Sea 

2006 Kiran Desai The Inheritance of Loss 

2007 Anne Enright The Gathering 

2008 Aravind Adiga The White Tiger 

2009 Hilary Mantel Wolf Hall 

2010 Howard Jacobson The Finkler Question 

2011 Julian Barnes The Sense of an Ending 

2012 Hilary Mantel Bring Up the Bodies 

2013 Eleanor Catton The Luminaries 

2014 Richard Flanagan The Narrow Road to the Deep North 

2015 Marlon James A Brief History of Seven Killings 

Joanna has twice won certificates of honour (and a free beer) for demonstrating “extraordinary courage against the unsurmountable Phaal”, a ludicrously spicy curry.