We think that you are in United States and that you would prefer to view Bookwitty in English.
We will display prices in United States Dollar (USD).
Have a cookie!
Bookwitty uses cookies to personalize content and make the site easier to use. We also share some information with third parties to gather statistics about visits.

Are you Witty?

Sign in or register to share your ideas

Sign In Register

Recommended Reading for Fans of Westworld: Cliff Notes

If you've stumbled here by accident, then there's a very good chance that none of this will make any sense to you. This is our condensed collection of recommended reading around HBO's sci-fi/western, Westworld

If you're the kind of person who prefers reading almost endless articles instead of straightforward and to-the-point reading lists, then you can should check out our endless meditation on just why these books might be of interest to Westworld fans.

    The Illustrated Man

    The Illustrated Man includes a short story called "The Veldt," which features a virtual reality nursery in which children are effectively raised by an increasingly creepy artificial intelligence. 

    It's a genuinely odd vibe, but one that resonates weirdly well with Westworld's reality-within-a-broader-science-fiction-context.

    Buy the Book
    Store Of The Worlds

    An NYRB Classics Original Robert Sheckley was an eccentric master of the American short story, and his tales, whether set in dystopic city­scapes, ultramodern advertising agencies, or aboard spaceships lighting out for hostile planets, are among the most startlingly original of the twentieth century. Today, as the new worlds, alternate universes, and synthetic pleasures Sheckley foretold become our reality, his vision begins to look less absurdist and more prophetic. This retrospective selection, chosen by Jonathan Lethem and Alex Abramovich, brings together the best of Sheckley’s deadpan farces, proving once again that he belongs beside such mordant critics of contemporary mores as Bruce Jay Friedman, Terry Southern, and Thomas Pynchon.

    Buy the Book
    Battle Royale: Remastered

    It's sad to live in a world where Battle Royale is easiest to describe in terms of how much it is like The Hunger Games... 

    It's relevant to Westworld not only for its portrayal of humanity in a situation in which violence is often the first response, but also for Kazuo Kiriyama, who acts as a reflection of Westworld's "man in black."

    Buy the Book
    Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep?

    In any discussion of androids, robotics, and humanity, Philip K. Dick's Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep should get a deserved shoutout. You could be forgiven for thinking watching Blade Runner was enough, but there's plenty more here to justify going back.

    Essential reading.

    Buy the Book
    The Complete Robot

    Asimov is rightly the writer we think of first when someone mentions robots. This recommendation could just have easily been made with I, Robot, Robot Dreams, or Robot Visions, but The Complete Robot puts together a fantastic series of short stories that grapple with Asimov's visions of what the future could mean for robotics.

    Buy the Book
    The Surrogates

    Where Westworld is about the hosts' realisation of what it is to be a person, The Surrogates is about what is lost when people interact only through machines. It's an excellent series that follows an investigation into the double homicide of two people's robot proxies, with a detective who is slowly learning to understand the viewpoint of their killer.

    Buy the Book
    The Ghost In The Shell 1 Deluxe Edition

    Like The Surrogates, Ghost in the Shell tackles questions of intelligence, agency, and personhood, but at the same time tracks the details of an increasingly complex case in which a criminal appears to be able to seize control of their victims' bodies. 

    To explain exactly why it's relevant here might spoil some of it, but we think it's something Westworld fans might appreciate.

    Buy the Book
    C.L. Moore SF Gateway Omnibus

    C. L. Moore isn't nearly as well remembered as she should be, but Northwest of Earth and Shambleau in particular are a beautiful combination of science fiction and western. Set in the barren, red dust of Mars, they convey a sense of isolation that is somehow more-western-than-western.

    The Gunslinger

    Stephen King's The Gunslinger had to appear somewhere on this list. Set in a post-apocalyptic desert whose people and wildlife have been ravaged by radiation and mutation, Roland (the gunslinger) chases his own "man in black" across the landscape. 

    Over the course of this and The Dark Tower series, he assembles a band of other gunslingers to help him in his quest to find the man in black and make his way to the Dark Tower. 

    It's a strange combination of sci-fi, western, and fantasy that works better than it has any right to, and it makes for compulsive reading.

    Buy the Book
    1
    2

    Professor George Edward Challenger first made a name for himself as a travelling adventurer and investigator. Unfortunately, he has never succeeded in solving the greatest mystery of all... and ... Show More