We think that you are in United States and that you would prefer to view Bookwitty in English.
We will display prices in United States Dollar (USD).
Have a cookie!
Bookwitty uses cookies to personalize content and make the site easier to use. We also share some information with third parties to gather statistics about visits.

Are you Witty?

Sign in or register to share your ideas

Sign In Register

Holiday Reading List, Yo!

Found this article relevant?

Idrissa and Shawn Langlois found this witty
2

All I want for Christmas, is books!

    Winterling

    Fer has always felt that she doesn't belong. She hears the call of the wild wood, the secrets it whispers. When her grandmother reveals clues about the disappearance of her father and his mystical bond to her mother, Fer begins to unlock secrets about the parents she never knew. Led to a reflecting pool which uncovers The Way, Fer finds an enchanting and dangerous land. And it is here that she will realise her destiny - to face down the deadly Mor and free this land from its imprisonment in ice and evil.

    Buy the Book
    Serafina and the Black Cloak

    "Never go into the deep parts of the forest, for there are many dangers there, and they will ensnare your soul." Serafina has never had a reason to disobey her pa and venture beyond the grounds of Biltmore Estate.There's plenty to explore in her grand home, although she must take care to never be seen. None of the rich folk upstairs know that Serafina exists; she and her pa, the estate's maintenance man, have secretly lived in the basement for as long as Serafina can remember. But when children at the estate start disappearing, only Serafina knows who the culprit is: a terrifying man in a black cloak who stalks Biltmore's corridors at night. Following her own harrowing escape, Serafina risks everything by joining forces with Braeden Vanderbilt, the young nephew of Biltmore's owners. Braeden and Serafina must uncover the Man in the Black Cloak's true identity before all of the children vanish one by one. Serafina's hunt leads her into the very forest that she has been taught to fear. There she discovers a forgotten legacy of magic, one that is bound to her own identity. In order to save the children of Biltmore, Serafina must seek the answers that will unlock the puzzle of her past.

    Buy the Book
    The Book of Speculation

    "Simon Watson lives alone on the Long Island Sound in his family home, a house perched on the edge of a cliff that is slowly crumbling into the sea. His parents are long dead, his mother having drowned in the water his house overlooks. His younger sister, Enola, works for a travelling carnival and seldom calls. On a day in late June, Simon receives a mysterious book from an antiquarian bookseller; it has been sent to him because it is inscribed with the name Verona Bonn, Simon's grandmother. The book tells the story of two doomed lovers who were part of a travelling circus more than two hundred years ago. The paper crackles with age as Simon turns the yellowed pages filled with notes and sketches. He is fascinated, yet as he reads Simon becomes increasingly unnerved. Why do so many women in his family drown on 24th July? And could Enola, who has suddenly turned up at home for the first time in years, risk the same terrible fate? As 24th July draws ever closer, Simon must unlock the mysteries of the book, and decode his family history, before it's too late."

    Buy the Book
    Girl in Pieces

    A deeply moving portrait of pain and survival. A Girl, Interrupted for a new generation. A New York Times bestseller. Charlotte Davis is in pieces. At eighteen she's already lost more than most people lose in a lifetime. But she's learned how to forget it. The thick glass of a mason jar cuts deep and the pain washes out the sorrow until there is nothing but calm. You don't have to think about your father and the bridge. Your best friend who is gone forever. Or your mother who has nothing left to give you. Every new scar hardens Charlie's heart just a little more, yet it still hurts so much. It hurts enough to not care anymore, which is sometimes what has to happen to find your way back from the edge. Ages 15+ / Crossover PRAISE A New York Times Bestseller 'A haunting, beautiful, and necessary book that will stay with you long after you've read the last page.' Nicola Yoon, #1 New York Times bestselling author 'poignant and transcendent ...This grittily provocative debut explores the horrors of self-harm and the healing power of artistic expression' Kirkus Review 'one of the most affecting novels we have read in a while' Gwyneth Paltrow's goop 'In Glasgow's riveting debut novel, readers are pulled close to Charlie's raw, authentic emotions as she strains to make a jagged path through her new life. Love and trust prove difficult, and Charlie's judgment is not well honed, but her will to survive is glorious.' Booklist, Starred review 'Heartbreaking and thick with emotion,...[Girl in Pieces is] for avid fans of Jennifer Niven's All the Bright Places or Susanna Kaysen's Girl Interrupted.' SLJ 'Equal parts keen-eyed empathy, stark candor, and terrible beauty. This book is why we read stories: to experience what it's like to survive the unsurvivable; to find light in the darkest night.' Jeff Zentner, author of The Serpent King 'Raw, visceral, and starkly beautiful, with writing that is at times transcendent in its brilliance...An unforgettable story of trauma and resilience.' Kerry Kletter, author of The First Time She Drowned 'A breathtakingly written book about pain and hard-won healing ...I want every girl to read Girl In Pieces.' Kara Thomas, author of The Darkest Corners 'A Girl, Interrupted for a new generation' Melissa Febos, author of Whip Smart Girl In Pieces is like the friend you wish you had by your side for every hard choice and every time you've felt lost or alone. It's fearless and uncompromising, but overflowing with heart and wisdom.' Anthony Breznican, author of Brutal Youth 'Dark, frank, and tender, Girl in Pieces keeps the reader electrified for its entire journey. You're so uncertain if Charlie will heal, so fully immersed in hoping she does.' Michelle Wildgen, author of Bread and Butter 'Girl in Pieces has the breath of life; every character in it is fully alive.' Charles Baxter, author of National Book Award finalist The Feast of Love 'Charlie Davis has been damaged and abused after several years of living on the streets, but she is fiercely resilient. Though it will appeal to readers of Ellen Foster, Speak, and Girl, Interrupted, Girl in Pieces is an entirely original work, compulsively readable and deeply human.' Julie Schumacher, author the New York Times bestseller Dear Committee Members

    Buy the Book

    Found this article relevant?

    Idrissa and Shawn Langlois found this witty
    2

    0 Comments

    Related Posts